Pence appoints members to State Board of Education

INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) — Gov. Mike Pence appointed four new people and reappointed two to the State Board of Education.

Pence named Dr. David Freitas as the Second Congressional appointee. He has served as a school board member, member of the Illinois license board, education official in Massachusetts and served as a dean of a college for more than 20 years.

Andrea Neal will represent the Fifth Congressional District. She is a history and English teacher in Indianapolis, writes a bi-weekly column and was a former Indianapolis Star writer,

Dr. Brad Oliver was named to the Sixth Congressional District. He has been an educational leader in the state for more than 20 years and served as the associate dean and education head at Indiana Wesleyan University. He was also appointed to the Indiana Professional Standards Advisory Board by former governor Mitch Daniels.

Troy Albert will represent the Ninth Congressional District. He is the Henryville Jr Sr. High School principal and is in his 32nd year in education. He was named principal of the year in 2012.

Avon educator Sarah O’Brien and Marian University President Dan Elsener have been reappointed to the board for the Fourth Congressional District and Seventh Congressional District.

Each member will serve four years and will begin on July 1.

Copyright 2014 WISH TV. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Political Pulse

Did you like this article? Vote it up or down! And don't forget to add your comments below!

Like It
Don't Like It


We welcome your thoughtful comments. Be the first to participate in the discussion. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Add a Comment

Sign in or join now to post a comment. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Indiana (change)

Indiana politics enter a new era as MIke Pence prepares to take over as the next governor.
Offices & Officials

Contacting the White House and Congress

Click the links below to get in touch with your elected officials.